Home / News / Community News / State troopers honor Rep. Jeff Thompson
August 01 09:57 AM

State troopers honor Rep. Jeff Thompson

Rep. Jeff Thompson (R- Benton) was recently recognized by the Louisiana State Troopers Association (LSTA) as a Legislator of the Year.

The awards were made Saturday, July 21, at the Louisiana State Troopers Association annual awards banquet in Houma.

This year’s recipients included Reps. Jeff Thompson of Benton, Chris Broadwater of Hammond and Chuck Kleckley of Lake Charles and Sen. Neil Riser of Columbia. Rep. Kleckley is the Speaker of the House of Representatives. The four were recognized for their devotion to public safety and for assistance in establishing a permanent funding source for state police operations.

In conferring the awards, Trooper Association President Lt. Frank Besson praised the untiring work of the legislators and acknowledged the difficulty of the task and commented, “All four of these gentlemen deserve more gratitude than we can possibly bestow on them for their service to Louisiana’s state troopers. Their determination and commitment helped us to reach goals that we have strived to attain for many, many years.”

Rep. Thompson is one of only three legislators in the 47-year history of the LTSA to be named twice to receive the honor. Thompson also received Legislator of the Year recognition in 2013 from the LSTA after working to provide funding of the first LSP cadet class in five years. That class graduated last May and added 46 new troopers to the state police.

“Making Louisiana safer for our families is of vital importance to me, and I am proud to support the men and women in law enforcement and am very humbled to receive this recognition,” Thompson said.

Digital Edition

click on cover to view digital version

Online Puzzels

Home and Garden

Loading Family Features Content Widget