Home / News / Community News / Senator Peacock and Rep. Seabaugh welcome Student of the Year finalists
April 19 11:03 AM

Senator Peacock and Rep. Seabaugh welcome Student of the Year finalists


District 37 State Senator Barrow Peacock (R- Shreveport/Bossier City) and District 5 State Representative Alan Seabaugh (R – Shreveport) welcome three Caddo Parish area Student of the Year regional finalists to the Louisiana Legislature. 5 th Grade Finalist Ceara Johnson of South Highlands Magnet, 8 th Grade Finalist Safa Michigan of Caddo Middle Magnet School and 12 th Grade Finalist Madeline Wagnon of Captain Shreve High School visited the Senate while in Baton Rouge for the Student of the Year finals.

Johnson and Michigan have both been selected as Student of the Year in their respective categories.

“I am so proud of each of these finalists,” said Sen. Peacock. “I want to congratulate them on their exemplary academic and personal achievements, leadership skills and service to their community. I also want to commend Ceara and Safa on winning at the state level.”

The process for selecting Student of the Year begins at the school level, where a candidate is chosen from each participating school in the 5 th , 8 th and 12 th grade categories. These students then compete with their peers at the district level and then the regional level. Students are chosen based on academic achievement, leadership skills, character and service to their school and communities.

Digital Edition

click on cover to view digital version

Online Puzzels

Home and Garden

Loading Family Features Content Widget