Home / News / Community News / Local appointed to Board of Prof. Geoscientists
March 21 11:16 AM

Local appointed to Board of Prof. Geoscientists

On Monday, Gov. Bobby Jindal announced appointments to the Louisiana Board of Professional Geoscientists.

The Louisiana Board of Professional Geoscientists is responsible for facilitating the registration of professional geoscientists.

According to the statute, the board shall consist of nine members, six of whom shall be licensed geoscientists, one of whom shall be a licensed professional engineer with expertise in geotechnical engineering and geoscience, and two of whom shall be members of the public.

The governor shall appoint all members to the board subject to Senate confirmation. The governor shall appoint at least one member from each congressional district, and except for the two members of the public, the governor shall select the nominees from lists of names submitted by each of the following: the Louisiana Engineering Society, the New Orleans Geological Society, the Baton Rouge Geological Society, the Shreveport Geological Society and the Lafayette Geological Society.

Lloyd Hoover of Shreveport is a registered civil engineer and the principal and chief engineer at Ardaman & Associates Inc. Hoover was nominated by the Louisiana Engineering Society to serve as a licensed professional engineer representing the 6th Congressional District, as required by statute.

Also appointed to the board was Arthur Johnson of Kenner. Johnson is a managing partner at Hydrate Energy International. Johnson will be appointed to serve as a nominee of the New Orleans Geological Society, as required by statute.

Digital Edition

click on cover to view digital version

Online Puzzels

Home and Garden

Loading Family Features Content Widget